Custom hair care: Formulate shampoo and conditioner review

Author: Jenny Wu
Jenny Wu

Cas

Friday 12th of March 2021

I absolutely LOVE Formulate the team is always so responsive and accommodating when I want to change something up. I doubt I'll ever use anything else! They ask you to try using the product differently if you have an issue and if that doesn't help then they are all about changing the formula. I found the routine change they suggested solved all my issues.

Ashley

Saturday 20th of February 2021

I just came across this review and thought I would comment. I’ve been using Formulate for 2 months and have not had any problem with my formula. Even though I was a little concerned when I read that some individuals’ formulas were not working for them. My hair is very oily, fine, and wavy. I’ll have to admit the products have not drastically changed the oiliness of my hair but has made a slight difference I think. The products have given my hair more volume, strength, and curl definition which I also put as my hair goals. The shampoo makes my hair feel smooth, unlike other shampoos I’ve used, and the conditioner makes my hair feel nice as well. Over time the products have made my hair easier to detangle which was difficult before. I have not had any problems with customer service but that’s just my experience.

Ashley

Sunday 31st of January 2021

I have tried Prose (and I love it, but not the price). I tried Formulate and was super excited to try it. It took a while to arrive (they warned it would). I hopped in the shower almost immediately to give it a try. My hair felt super greasy when I got out of the shower. I thought maybe I hadn't rinsed well. So the next time I rinsed very well and it was even greasier. When I got my hair cut the stylist asked what I used in my hair. I then tried just the shampoo and the shampoo WAS nice for my hair. It made my hair feel great (and smells good). I reached out about the conditioner and didn't get a bad response like some people I got NO response. Bit the bullet and went back to Prose (which to be fair is also shipping on an increased delay) and my hair is happy. Kind of sad because I would have stuck with Formulate if they'd even been like "Let's see how we can fix it for next time."

Jenny

Sunday 31st of January 2021

Sorry to hear about your experience Ashley. Unfortunately that seems to be a common occurrence with them now, and I've updated my post to reflect this as well. I'm glad at least the shampoo worked for you!

Jessica

Thursday 31st of December 2020

I tried Formulate and was very disappointed with their solution and their customer service follow-up. Their packaging is delightful -- who doesn't want to have geometric bottles? However, this doesn't make up for the way their product worked for me. Others may have different experiences. As they don't allow a way for people to submit negative feedback, here I am on this article.

The shampoo was just "fine" -- comparable to a store brand shampoo in feel, smell, and cleaning power. However, the conditioner left my hair completely oily in a way I didn't think was possible. I applied a normal amount of conditioner and after drying with a towel and hair dryer, when I scrunched my hair with my fingers, my hand came away sticky and slick with grease. It was painful to brush through. I thought surely I answered the questionnaire incorrectly, or their questionnaire was missing something critical -- this conditioner is NOT for my hair! I have light textured hair with thin strands. It lays flat. It does not need oil!

I contacted them, and received two back and forth responses that basically told me to dilute the conditioner with some shampoo. No indication that the formula was incorrect, that I'd answered incorrectly, or any effort to work towards a better formula -- just "try this and see." No "oh, that's horrible, let's ship out a better formula" or "you know, we demand great experiences, here's your money back" -- just "keep trying" as though I'd only just discovered how to wash my hair in my mid-thirties and needed to improve my technique like I admittedly do with parallel parking.

Packaging? 5/5 stars it does look good Customer service? 0/5 stars Formula? 1/5 stars only because the shampoo did remove oil and dirt Shipping? 2/5 stars only because they warned me upfront it would be delayed, although it was delayed even longer than the expected date. It took well over a month to deliver this disappointment.

There is no way to submit negative feedback so that potential customers can be warned. Be warned! It's all marketing, no transparency.

Jenny

Saturday 2nd of January 2021

Hi Jessica, I can't speak to your experience with the formula as they are different for everyone, but wow I'm sorry to hear about the poor customer experience. Have you tried posting/reaching out to them via social media? Either way I will be updating my review to reflect this.

Marie C.

Friday 30th of October 2020

Took 4 weeks to receive my package in Des Moines. Then I wished I'd never received it. Just awful. Zero stars.

Jenny

Monday 2nd of November 2020

At first I thought your comment was legit, until I saw that both you and Andy Monroe above share the same IP address. And it's an IP address from an ISP in Canada, so explain how you're getting your package in Des Moines? Nice try spammer.