Function of Beauty – an honest review

Author: Jenny Wu
Jenny Wu

Maria

Sunday 8th of August 2021

So I bought th shampoo and conditioner with the formula and I haven’t used it yet because I’m not done with my other shampoo BUT I’m scared of trying this brand I love my hair a lot and I want to keep the waves and texture of my hair. I’m not sure what to do and I want an opinion because I really don’t want to damage my hair

Jenny

Sunday 8th of August 2021

I would recommend reaching out to the brand directly!

Lauren

Wednesday 7th of October 2020

I am so glad I found this article because something you said resonated with me so much- i’ve been using my function of beauty products for four months now and just recently I noticed how greasy the inside of my hair is well after my hair has dried from washing. I realize now it’s because of what you said, how if you choose “deep condition“ and “fix split ends“, you can end up with products that are not the best for your scalp and can make it greasy! That has to be what is happening to me! And it’s annoying because I just realized this right as my second shipment is coming to me with that same formula. I found a phone number for the company and I’m going to try and call them today. I emailed with them yesterday and found the exchange annoying although in the end the rep did recommend the same thing you said, to replace those two choices with others. Well, how would I have known that? They should not offer choices that will make your scalp greasy! Great article :)

Jenny

Wednesday 7th of October 2020

I'm glad my post helped! I agree, that's definitely the danger of leaving these choices up to the consumer with no guidance, because our natural instinct is to focus on the state of our hair and not our scalp. I hope the new formula works better for you!

Kbeauty Notes

Thursday 17th of September 2020

Thank you so much for your honest review Jenny! I've seen Function of Beauty everywhere on social media and I'd love to give them a try <3

Amber

Friday 11th of September 2020

I've been using FoB for about 6 months since my sister got me some for my birthday, and I really like it. They do have silicon-free options in shampoo and conditioner, though not in mask, leave-in, or serum, so that's nice.

Angie Johnson

Sunday 2nd of August 2020

Hi Jenny! I can’t thank you enough for this very detailed, well thought-out review. I, too, have a finicky scalp and selected the same 5 goals for Function of Beauty. Also, thanks for the pro tip about getting a larger shampoo vs conditioner! I will be purchasing through your links as a token of my appreciation for this post!

Jenny

Sunday 2nd of August 2020

Hi Angie, thank you for your comment and for purchasing through my link! I really hope the products work for you too!