Biotherm Life Plankton Essence review

Author: Jenny Wu
Jenny Wu

Gordana

Thursday 21st of March 2019

Is it oil free? my skin does not tolerate any oil so if am going to buy it, it has to be oil free..

Jenny

Thursday 21st of March 2019

I've linked the ingredient list in the post, and this version does not contain oil. However they have reformulated this product so I recommend checking their official site for the updated ingredient list.

Sara

Wednesday 28th of November 2018

Thanks for the review on this essence. Would like to know whether you could recommend any other more affordable hydrating serums that does the same jobs as this essence as mentioned in this post? Thank you :)

Jenny

Wednesday 28th of November 2018

Hi Sara, I shared a few hydrating serums in my Face Serums Guide. One that I really like is the Klairs Soothing Serum, which also contains calming ingredients.

Cat L.

Friday 7th of July 2017

I am a fan of the brand and even got my husband hooked on some of their skincare. However, I know what you mean about expectations being in line with the price we pay for products. I haven't tried too many essences, mainly just the SK-II which I love, so I'm always interested in reading reviews and recommendations. Any hydrating toners that you're loving at the moment and would repurchase?

~ Cat L. www.CatsDailyLiving.com

Jenny

Sunday 9th of July 2017

I have the SK-II essence in my stash that I'll be using as soon as I finish my Naruko one! Did you like anything else from Biotherm? This was the first of their products that I've tried, and I'm also curious about their Life Plankton overnight mask.

As for hydrating toners I really enjoy the KLAIRS Supple Preparation Toner which I think I reviewed a while back, but it's affordable, hydrating, soothing, and not too sticky which is great for my combo skin :)

Velvet Blush

Thursday 6th of July 2017

Now I know why thermal spa waters are so popular haha! At first, I was like wow the results look so good, but weighing in the price I can see what you mean, you could probably get a few serums for that much! xx

Velvet Blush

Jenny

Sunday 9th of July 2017

Yes! These studies actually make me want to try out more of the thermal water products from La Roche-Posay, as those are definitely in the more affordable price range :)

Stephanie | thefantasia.com

Thursday 6th of July 2017

Your pictures are stunning - these shots belong in a magazine :) I have heard and see this quite a bit lately. I've always thought it was a bit gimmicky but it's good to see your thorough review on it as well! I think I'm sticking with my Ordinary skincare range as that price is a little bit out of the budget for me!

Stephanie | theFantasia.com

Jenny

Sunday 9th of July 2017

Aww thank you so much Stephanie! They definitely try to draw you in with the fancy sounding "life planktons" but at least there were studies that backed their claims...sadly I just didn't see the results. I agree, definitely lots of better and more affordable options out there!